Wednesday, January 11, 2023


Ezra J. William, Tina Leung, Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Eva Chen and Phillip Lim gained the the Constructive Social Affect Award. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

American style’s second ‘greatest’ night time occurred on Monday, Nov. 7, 2022 (the primary being the MET Gala), when the Council of Trend Designers of America (CFDA), in partnership with Amazon Trend, held its 2022 Trend Awards extravaganza at Cipriani South Road in New York Metropolis.  An orange-haired and comical Natasha Lyonne, the night’s host, was joined by designers Gabriela Hearst, Joseph Altuzarra, Aurora James and Proenza Schouler’s Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough. What was so particular concerning the 2022 CFDA awards was it marked the CFDA’s sixtieth anniversary.

Natasha Lyonne in Proenza Schouler hosted the CFDA Awards. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

In case you are a real blue follower of all issues style, like us, then you definitely have been almost definitely streaming the present actual time. However you simply have to wonder if there’s a course on easy methods to pose on the Purple Carpet. Don’t learn about you, however we had countless enjoyable watching as every of the designers and celebs lined up in cue towards the CFDA backdrop, and to cite Madonna, “struck a pose”.

As typical, this yr CFDA Trend Award honorees have been chosen upfront of the present however the award winners have been introduced on the awards ceremony. Winners have been voted on forward of time by the CFDA Awards Guild, which is comprised of CFDA members, main style journalists, stylists, and prime retail executives.

Essentially the most coveted awards are at all times American Womenswear Designer of the Yr and American Menswear Designer of the Yr. Actress Christina Ricci introduced the American Womenswear Designer of the Yr award to Catherine Holstein of KHAITE (takes its title from the Greek phrase (χαίτη) which means “lengthy, flowing hair.”). Holstein’s label beat out nominees Christopher John Rogers, Gabriela Hearst, LaQuan Smith, and Peter Do.

Christina Ricci and Womenswear Designer of the Yr Catherine Holstein of KHAITE. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

The Each day Present’s late night time tv host Trevor Noah was readily available to provide the American Menswear Designer of the Yr to Emily Adams Bode Aujla of Bode. Actor Joel Kim Booster introduced Raul Lopez of LUAR with the American Accent Designer of the Yr. And actress Keke Palmer introduced the American Rising Designer award to Elena Velez.

Trevor Noah and Menswear Designer of the Yr Emily Bode Aujla. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

Cher in Chrome Hearts and Patti Wilson in Schiaparelli on the CFDA Awards. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

And naturally, the occasion was stuffed with probably the most trendy celebrities. Cher (are you able to imagine she is 76?) opened the ceremony by presenting stylist Patti Wilson the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard. Later that night time Cher introduced one other award alongside her goddaughter Jesse Jo Stark to provide The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts; and naturally, Cher rocked a Chrome Hearts look.

Kerry Washington and Stylist Award winner Legislation Roach. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

A serious addition to the CFDA awards is the “Stylist Award”. These within the know, know that with out stylists, a runway present or a photoshoot could be meh. Stylists work with designers, celebs  and photographers to place the “wow issue” right into a designer’s designs or create a star’s ‘look’. We are able to’t imagine it took this lengthy for the CFDA to acknowledge these change makers.

Stylist Legislation Roach obtained the inaugural Stylist Award from Kerry Washington. Roach gave one of the memorable speeches of the night time. The stylist extraordinaire shared that in 2016 Zendaya was invited by Michael Kors to attend the CFDA Awards at Hammerstein Ballroom. He watched the present from the kitchen. “I sat and watched from the kitchen with the waiters who served your meals and drinks,” Roach mentioned. “I mentioned to myself that sooner or later I’m going to be on that stage! I’m an instance that something and every little thing is feasible.”

Natasha Lyonne and Trend Icon Lenny Kravitz. (Photograph Credit score: Getty Pictures)

The night time was stuffed with loads of further highlights as nicely. Actor Bradley Cooper introduced rock star Lenny Kravitz with the very fittingly Trend Icon award. In the meantime, American Businesswoman and tv character Martha Stewart introduced the inaugural Innovation Award introduced by Amazon Trend to SKIMS, which was accepted by Kim Kardashian, Emma Grede, and Jens Grede. Your complete Kardashian/Jenner crew (except for Kourtney) attended the CFDA Awards and cheered Kim on for her massive achievement.

Khloé Kardashian, Kendall Jenner, Kris Jenner, Kim Kardashian, Kylie Jenner

There have been loads of further wins for the night together with Andrew Bolton receiving the The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert from non-other than Anna Wintour, Jeffrey Banks receiving the Particular Anniversary Award from Stan Herman,  The United Nations receiving the Environmental Sustainability Award from Amber Valletta, and The Home of Slay—aka Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William—receiving the Constructive Social Affect Award from Eva Chen. Throughout one of many a tearful moments of the night time, Shannon Abloh accepted the posthumous Board of Trustee’s Award on behalf of her late husband, Virgil Abloh.


American Womenswear Designer of the Yr: Catherine Holstein for Khaite

American Menswear Designer of the Yr: Emily Bode Aujla for Bode

American Accent Designer of the Yr: Raul Lopez for Luar

American Rising Designer of the Yr: Elena Velez

Trend Icon: Lenny Kravitz

Constructive Social Affect Award: Slaysians from The Home of Slay that includes Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung and Ezra William

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Bolton

Amazon Innovation Award: Kim Kardashian, Emma Grede and Jens Grede of Skims

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts

Media Award in Honore of Eugenia Sheppard: Patti Wilson

Environmental Sustainability Award: The United Nations (to be accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-Normal)

Stylist Award: Legislation Roach

Particular Anniversary Award: Jeffrey Banks

Gigi Hadid, Thom Browne and Anna Wintour on the CFDA Awards Dinner. (Photograph Credit score: FashionWeekDaily)

So inform us, do you have got a fav designer?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments